2014 NHL Awards: Selke Trophy Preview

On Tuesday night in Las Vegas, the NHL will hand out the 2013-14 Frank J. Selke Trophy, which is awarded “to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.”

This year’s finalists are Chicago’s Jonathan Toews, Boston’s Patrice Bergeron and LA’s Anze Kopitar.

Only seven players have won the Selke Trophy more than once in the history of the award, and two of this year’s nominees could join that elite list.

Toews is nominated for the third time, and won the Selke last year. Toews is only the third Chicago player to win the Selke – Dirk Graham (1990-91) and Troy Murray (1985-86) – and could become the first Blackhawks player to win the award a second time.

Bergeron is nominated for the third straight year; he won in 2012. Both Bergeron and Toews finished behind Vancouver’s Ryan Kesler in 2011. Bergeron was the runner-up to Toews after last season.

2 thoughts on “2014 NHL Awards: Selke Trophy Preview

  • June 24, 2014 at 1:13 pm

    Anyone of the 3 would be MORE than deserving…and to me, this is such a prestigious award, because it usually goes to the most all around NHL player. Toews won last year, and I think Bergeron will get it this year…but if its Kopitar, then hats off…all 3 guys are THROW BACK players to another era. My friends and I are STILL talking about the Toews/Kopitar battle in the WCFs…and not many people even noticed it because neither line scored a lot of points, but EACH SHIFT between these 6 guys was simply legendary…Hossa and Bickell played PHENOMENAL 2 way hockey in the WCFs and I hear a lot of people ragging on their game…wow.

  • June 24, 2014 at 2:23 pm

    lots of Hawks fans say “if Hossa played center he’d win the Selke” – if you watch Kopitar play, you’ll see Hossa playing the center ice position. He’s an exceptional player and the Kings are fortunate to have him up front.

    That said, I think this is Bergeron’s year (again).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *