Blackhawks All Together in 2011 NHL All Star Game Draft… Almost

This will be a fun, fascinating All Star Game to watch as a Blackhawks fan.

Team Lidstrom, with Patrick Kane serving as an alternate captain, selected every player in the Game that has ever played for the Hawks… except Patrick Sharp.

Joining Kane in the blue sweaters on Sunday will be second round pick Duncan Keith, seventh round pick Dustin Byfuglien, eighth round pick Jonathan Toews and 14th round pick Martin Havlat.

Sharp was selected by Team Staal between Byfuglien and Toews to begin the eighth round.

Despite being the only player to play for Chicago on Team Staal, Sharp won’t be alone; coaches Joel Quenneville and Mike Haviland will have to gameplan to beat five of their current and former players.

Another aspect of the game that could be interesting will be how the five former Hawks are handled by the coach of Team Lidstrom, Vancouver’s Alain Vigneault. Will be play Byfuglien at wing with Toews and Kane, or would that give his regular season goalie, Roberto Luongo, nightmares from last year’s playoffs?

For what it’s worth, Toronto’s Phil Kessel was the last pick of the Draft. By “earning” that honor, Kessel will give $20,000 of someone else’s money to the charity of his choice and receives a new car.


  Eric Staal Niklas Lidstrom
A Ryan Kesler Martin St. Louis
A Mike Green Patrick Kane
1 Cam Ward Steven Stamkos
2 Alex Ovechkin Duncan Keith
3 Daniel Sedin Henrik Sedin
4 Zdeno Chara Shea Weber
5 Rick Nash Tim Thomas
6 Henrik Lundqvist Daniel Briere
7 Marc Staal Dustin Byfuglien
8 Patrick Sharp Jonathan Toews
9 Dan Boyle Marc-Andre Fleury
10 Carey Price Jonas Hiller
11 Jeff Skinner Brad Richards
12 Kris Letang Keith Yandle
13 Claude Giroux Brent Burns
14 Erik Karlsson Martin Havlat
15 Corey Perry Anze Kopitar
16 Patrick Elias Matt Duchene
17 David Backes Loui Eriksson
18 Paul Stastny Phil Kessel
  Rookies Rookies
  Logan Couture Evgeni Dadonov
  Tyler Ennis Oliver Ekman-Larsson
  Michael Grabner Cam Fowler
  Jamie McBain Taylor Hall
  Tyler Seguin Kevin Shattenkirk
  PK Subban Derek Stepan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *