Jonathan Toews Named Messier Award Finalist

On Monday afternoon, Chicago Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews was named one of three finalists for the 2014-15 Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award.

The other two finalists are former Blackhawk and current Winnipeg Jets captain Andrew Ladd and Anaheim Ducks captain Ryan Getzlaf.

The selection of the three finalists and winner are made by Mark Messier.

4 thoughts on “Jonathan Toews Named Messier Award Finalist

  • May 4, 2015 at 8:12 pm

    Well deserved. IMHO the best player/leader in the NHL.

  • May 4, 2015 at 9:20 pm

    Three very worthy nominees. Hopefully Tazer adds it to his trophy case.

  • May 5, 2015 at 8:51 am

    The fact that Shane Doan and Dustin Brown have won this award but Toews hasn’t, means this is not a valid award based upon it’s description “to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice during the regular season.” If it were really handed out based upon that criteria, Toews would win it about every other year.

  • May 5, 2015 at 11:53 am

    I thought Tazer would have won it last year, I am sure he will this year! Best leader in pro sports!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *