8 thoughts on “Jonathan Toews Named Selke Finalist

  • April 24, 2014 at 10:10 am

    I’d imagine these 3 will be the Selke finalist for the forseeable future.

  • April 24, 2014 at 10:26 am

    Tazer is the best player in hockey, when you consider all aspects of the game. He will be a fixture for this award the rest of his brilliant career. However, this year the winner will be Patrice Bergeron, and deservedly so. These are the 2 centres I would build my team around.

    Congrats JT!

  • April 24, 2014 at 11:29 am

    I know the Selke is as much of a reputation award as any of them and as such I’m not surprised that Toews is one of the finalists, but I didn’t think he was as good defensively this season as past seasons. I’m not saying he isn’t deserving of being considered because he’s still darn good and maybe he is in the top-3 this season, but don’t think he was even the best defensive forward on the Hawks this season, but since it has evolved into a centerman’s award, Hossa isn’t in consideration.

    Sorry Tazer, luv ya and wouldn’t trade you for anyone, but I think Bergeron has earned the Selke this season.

  • April 24, 2014 at 1:31 pm

    I would say a healthy Zetterberg is the most complete player. Maybe Hossa if being a center isn’t a prerequisite. Obviously you would build a team around younger players that haven’t had back surgery but that aside I’d go with either veteran. Super subjective but that’s just like my opinion man.

  • April 24, 2014 at 1:32 pm

    And regarding the award since Hossa isn’t in the running for whatever arbitrary reason hopefully Toews gets another one.

  • April 24, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    Are the awards evolving or deteriorating? I love seeing our guys mentioned but the process is being abused and leads to a lack of interest in the actual winner for me. Put it in writers hands and it’s gonna come back dirty

    Sun Times recently pushed for 81 case. Avs RO another one

  • April 24, 2014 at 4:15 pm

    Are the awards deteriorating? Not sure how Bergeron, Toews & Kopitar being finalists for the Selke is any indication of a watered down or weakened process… yes, Hossa should be named every year. Ryan O’Reilly, Pavel Datsyuk both also great candidates. But they named 3 finalists.

  • April 25, 2014 at 12:28 am

    some award finalist selected on reputation/just not much faith in PHWA

    Norris to PKS
    Ovechkin, first and second team. RW/LW
    Greg Wyshynski

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *