NHL Top 20 All-Time Champions Includes 2009-10 Blackhawks

On Thursday, the NHL revealed the top 20 Stanley Cup-winning teams of all-time. A fan vote will cut down the 20 remaining teams (listed below) to ten, which will then be ranked in the final round of head-to-head voting. Final round voting closes May 25, and the All-Time Top 10 will be unveiled during the Stanley Cup Final.

Fans can vote at NHL.com/GreatestTeams.

On the list are four Oilers teams and three each from the Penguins, Islanders and Canadiens. The Red Wings (twice), Avs, Rangers, Flames, Bruins and Blackhawks are also represented.

Here are the 20 remaining teams (in reverse chronological order):

  • 2015-16 Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2009-10 Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2001-02 Detroit Red Wings
  • 2000-01 Colorado Avalanche
  • 1997-98 Detroit Red Wings
  • 1993-94 New York Rangers
  • 1991-92 Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1990-91 Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1988-89 Calgary Flames
  • 1987-88 Edmonton Oilers
  • 1986-87 Edmonton Oilers
  • 1984-85 Edmonton Oilers
  • 1983-84 Edmonton Oilers
  • 1982-83 New York Islanders
  • 1981-82 New York Islanders
  • 1979-80 New York Islanders
  • 1977-78 Montreal Canadiens
  • 1976-77 Montreal Canadiens
  • 1975-76 Montreal Canadiens
  • 1969-70 Boston Bruins

9 thoughts on “NHL Top 20 All-Time Champions Includes 2009-10 Blackhawks

  • May 18, 2017 at 12:16 pm

    No Carolina Hurricanes or Ducks? This list is silly, just a popularity contest

  • May 18, 2017 at 12:20 pm

    Speaking of the Canes, if the Preds go into win the cup, Peter Laviolette will become a 2x champ with two different outlying teams; simply amazing. If you go up and down the NHL cup champions each team has at least 2 or 3 future Hall of Fame players until you hit the Canes. I can’t see the Preds boasting any possible HOF players with the exception of possibly Subban maybe.

  • May 18, 2017 at 2:10 pm

    True-they work hard, want it badly and have a big, mobile defense that really supports there type of play.
    The 09/10 team with the killer B’s-Bolland, Brouwer, Bygulien, Ben Eager and Burrish was fun to watch, hard to play against.

  • May 18, 2017 at 2:56 pm

    No teams from before 1970.

  • May 18, 2017 at 5:43 pm

    That’s a bullshit list .

  • May 19, 2017 at 3:25 pm

    How can the Broad Street bullies not be on this list ,.,.great era for hockey ,.,.Super Series 76 ,chasing the Russians off the ice ,.,.Total Fear Factor . This is what Trumps talks about ,.,.Making America Great Again

  • May 20, 2017 at 10:38 am

    To put the 2010 team with the one hit wonders is a joke.

    The 2010/2013/2015 and teams are a dynasty.

    At least 2010 and 2013 teams in there.

    Should also factor in salary cap and how many good teams there were when the teams played to order the list.

    Bottom line. What teams are one hit wonders and which teams had dynastys.

  • May 21, 2017 at 8:10 am

    Lists like this are always going to be more contemporary then the entire history of the NHL sI no worries.

    Hawkhead I agree about the 76 Flyers.

    I disagree about Subban being a Hall of Fame player. A very good player but in no way is he the reason the Predators are where they are.

  • May 21, 2017 at 5:09 pm

    Agree Mike about Subban think a big reason for Preds success is that Josi has been a go to guy on the blueline and not over depending on Subban as Montreal did.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *